Tarp setups for 7x10?

Discussion in 'Shelter' started by woodsranger, Aug 9, 2018 at 10:20 PM.

1. woodsranger

woodsranger Scout

Blog Posts:
    Just picked up the BCO 7x10 tarp, and now I'd like your suggestions on the "best" configurations that fit the 7x10 shape. I'm a rookie at this, so simpler is better! I know the basic lean-to and a-frame setups, but is there anything else that blocks wind better and would also allow me to have a warming fire either inside or at the entrance?

I've seen a "plough" that looks like it might work, but can that be done with a rectangular 7x10?

MrFixIt likes this.
  2. batosai117

batosai117 Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Tagging along for the replies. I’ve never camped with just a tarp (I’ve always had a tent) and I’ve been looking at configurations for the BCO MEST setup 5x8 and the 10x10.

MrFixIt likes this.
  3. Seeker

Seeker Woods Bum Supporter Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    @alukban... i think the 10x7 plowpoint is one of your favorites... got any pics to share here?

MrFixIt and alukban like this.
  4. alukban

alukban Guide

Blog Posts:
    Yes it is @Seeker ! :)

I also have a 7x9 from BCUSA before they made 7x10’s.

I do happen to have a pic of 7x10 (dark brown, Silnylon) right next to a 5x7, “mated” together :D

You can see that I matched the short sides so you can get the length out of it and sacrifice some height. 10’ run along the ground will pretty much cover anybody - even Shaq. If you want more hanging space to sit, run the 7’ length along the ground instead.

(the one on the right is the 7x10 - my kid is about 4’ 10”)
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]