The best beginners bushcraft knife?

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by MattKlepp, Aug 20, 2019.

1. MattKlepp

MattKlepp Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I am new to the bushcraft knife game and was hoping to get some help. What is the best knife to start with and what should I work up to? Is getting a knife with a tool steel blade worth the price?

2. dirt7

dirt7 Guide

Blog Posts:
    Get a Mora, lots of folks who spend hundreds on custom knives still enjoy using a Mora. Good steel, comfortable design, and an all around nice knife for most tasks.

hotelZulu, Hasco, JasonJ and 28 others like this.
  3. BladeScout

BladeScout Scout

Blog Posts:
    Terävä 110.
    Youll get loads of responses saying 'Mora.' Either will do:D

JasonJ, beestokk, BradGad and 17 others like this.
  4. Mikewood

Mikewood Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    You get my load of carbon steel mora companion.
    $16 will buy you about $50 worth of knife. Once you get this bushcraft stuff sorted out and love it then consider a $150 semi custom. Or maybe about 10 more moras.

Hasco, fishiker, JasonJ and 15 others like this.
  5. Enzo

Enzo Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    My first fixed-blade was a Buck 119. It’s great, and I highly recommend getting one. Very easy steel to sharpen, strong design, and it’s safe for folks unfamiliar to bushcraft activities since it has a front and back guard. The phenolic handle is also really strong, and it’s excellent for cold weather. Also, the 420HC steel is one of the most corrosion-resisitant knife steels available, which is a big plus for anyone who isn’t used to keeping their knives oiled/dry. Doesn’t matter if it’s raining, if you’re on a lake, or even if you leave your knife to soak overnight, it simply won’t rust.

I’ve put my 119 through very hard use, and it’s never chipped or given out in any way.