The Long Hunt

Discussion in 'Outings, Trips & Expeditions' started by Bad_Neighbor, Aug 19, 2019.

1. Bad_Neighbor

Bad_Neighbor Tracker

Blog Posts:
    For years I’ve been fascinated by the long hunters of the 18th century. I’ve met people who do re-enactments. They dress in clothing from the period, and camp for a weekend in canvas tents. Some of you probably do this. I also live very close to Long Hunter State Park in Tennessee which is a pleasant hike.

Anyway, I’ve been flirting with this idea for a couple years now and I want to finally give it a try this winter. I’m talking about a modern long hunt. I’m a small game hunter/trapper. Every winter I hunt squirrels and rabbits with a .22, dove and crow with a pump shotgun, and trap opossums, skunks and raccoons. I hunt and trap Cheatham Wildlife Management Area west of Nashville, however this location wouldn’t be suitable for a long hunt because TWRA doesn’t allow camping there.

Cherokee National Forest seems like a great location. I heard you can camp pretty much anywhere. And because it’s a huge wilderness area I’m sure there’s tons of game. Picture this: Hit the trail with basic gear. Enough to carry on your back to set up a basic camp, and a weeks worth of dried food. Set traps and hunt for a week with the intention of bringing home hides and turning the meat into jerky over the campfire drying method.

As for traps, they’d have to be small so you can carry a lot of them, no cage traps. Also would have to be careful with cooked game and hides because it’s black bear country. What do y’all think of this idea? Anyone do this?

wannabee, JeffG, schapm and 9 others like this.
  2. Royal Wulff

Royal Wulff Scout

Blog Posts:
    I think it's a great idea. I wish I had time to do something like it.

central joe and MrFixIt like this.
  3. longcruise

longcruise Scout

Blog Posts:
    Never done it but it is fascinating. I too am intrigued by the "longhunters" in history.