The magic knife

Discussion in 'Edged Tools' started by ponchomatt, Jul 15, 2019.

1. ponchomatt

ponchomatt Scout

Blog Posts:
    22519246-8072-4B2D-9DF6-87A352D9E5AE.jpeg
    As a child growing up there were several knives I remember. From bucks to schrades and everything in between. While I usually carry a buck 112 compliments of a gracious member here, or my buck 110 there is one knife though that has stood out to me and was recently handed down to me. The case 6318 stockman. It’s nothing crazy or truly a show piece of a knife, but as a child and even up into my teens this knife was magic to me. My dad actually found the knife by chance while he was in a crawl space doing some work. I watched my father day in and day out use it effortlessly to complete just about any and every task you could think of. I remember sitting in the basement conversing with my dad while he used it to skin copper wire(he’s an electrician by trade). I remember him peeling apples with it for me, cutting fishing line, and even as a teen when I was in a tight spot and locked my keys in my car he actually drove out to my workplace at night when I got off and used the knife to unlock my car door with absolutely no damage to the knife or key cylinder. It was truly an amazing thing. In my eyes that knife can literally do everything. All of this has made me think to myself, what will my kids remember as being that magic knife. Will it be one of my bucks? Or possibly my mora classic or bolt knife I use around camp. Time may only tell. So here’s to great memories and a world passed by that no longer is. Thanks for reading and indulging in my short story and thoughts.
    Happy trails everyone

2. Winterhorse

Winterhorse Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    For as much work as you have told us about, the blades are in great shape.

3. freebirdfb

freebirdfb Bushmaster

Blog Posts:
    M Grandpa turns 92 next month. He has carried a stockman as long as I have known him.

4. ponchomatt