This is what Hyper-Inflation looks like.

Discussion in 'Preparedness' started by LostViking, Aug 17, 2018.

1. LostViking

LostViking Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I see this as valuable knowledge for prepping.
    If/when the economy tanks. Large stockpiles of cash may become virtually useless.

This isn't pie in the sky fantasy. It is real world, real time.
    https://www.wral.com/swamped-in-inflation-venezuela-will-cut-five-zeros-from-currency/17774600/

Excerpt;
    The tactics have left Venezuelans like Yosmar Nowak, the owner of a coffee shop in Caracas, convinced that there is no solution in sight and that the government cannot even bring down the price of a cup of coffee, an eye-watering 2 million bolivars.

Just food for thought.

It may pay to think about bartering. Consumables like coffee, candles, food, will all retain value, even if currency does not.

I don't see this in our short term future. But I have been studying Venezuela for about five years now. It was a slow slide to get where they are now.

It will be an ever slower path to recovery.

Last edited: Aug 17, 2018
    werewolf won, pab1, Inyo and 25 others like this.
  2. LostViking

Blog Posts:
    What I do see is inflation being buried and camouflaged everywhere here in the United States,

A jar of red sauce shrank from 32oz. to 24oz. But the price remained the same.

A 6-pack of IBC Root Beer became a 4-pack. But the price remained the same.

A roll of paper towels is about 2/3s the size it was. Same price.

A box of 1 quart ziploc bags is scraping on $9.00. Nine dollars for a box of plastic bags.

These are just some immediate examples that are fresh in my mind. But everything is creeping up in price.

My wife came home with groceries last night. $190.00. I carried them in. I can tell you plainly, there was not $190.00 worth of groceries in those bags.

We do not live high on the hog.
    There were no Delmonicos, or Sirloin Tips.