What kind of tarp

Discussion in 'Shelter' started by Okie Hick, Jun 15, 2017.

1. Okie Hick

Okie Hick Tracker

Blog Posts:
    i am planning on doing an over night trip soon and I bought a hammock to sleep in I saw somewhere where someone had set up a tarp over there hammock, looked like an upside down V, I thought this was cool and would keep me out of the hot sun. I don't have a tarp and is there a specific material that people use or when people say tarp is it just the blue plastics ones you can get at Walmart. Also if anyone knows of somewhere where I can get a list of basic things to have in a bag for an over night trip that would be great. I am not new to the outdoors but I am new to bushcraft style camping instead of camping out of a truck. Thanks for all the help!

Red Wing likes this.
  2. Red Wing

Red Wing Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    Hammock, tarp, sleeping pad, sleeping bag, metal cup or small pot, walmart greasepot is a great starter. Prob want your wood tools, knife n saw. Water purifier.

Gideons tactical just reviewed some mountainsmith camping tarp, hex, for like 50.00. Thats pretty good for a tarp that nice.

Unistat76 and NJHeart2Heart like this.
  3. Terasec

Terasec Scout

Blog Posts:
    Most start out with blue poly tarps
    Then move on to the costlier nylon type tarps
    If your camping near the car poly tarp works fine
    If you plan on hiking in poly tarps can be quite bulky

Unistat76 and NJHeart2Heart like this.
  4. Brown85

Brown85 Guide

Blog Posts: