What level of medical training do you have?

Discussion in 'Bush Medicine' started by Colorado Plainsman, Jan 13, 2012.

1. Colorado Plainsman

Colorado Plainsman Scout

Blog Posts:
    Are you a MD, Nurse, Paramedic, EMT,have Wilderness medicine training or First aid CPR? Did you take your education for reasons beyond your career?

I am a EMT and took the class this summer. I took it for a few reasons, one being my family hikes a lot and I wanted to be able to fix them if the become broken or take care of them if they are ill. I am glad I have these skills now knowing what to do so I don't cause more harm such as trying to move someone with a spinal cord injury without the correct steps. Being able to help friends or family if I ever had to. Feeling helpless when SHTF sucks.

2. Gryphonblade

Gryphonblade Guide

Blog Posts:
    Saint George, UT, temporarily out of state (and mi
    Heart Assoc. CPR and Red Cross First Aid last time around. I was First Responder at one time. Everything is expired right now. Need to renew, but it's kinda hard to do in this area as a private citizen. Local agencies won't do individuals...need to organize a group and I don't have time to do that right now just to renew my certs.

3. Bonehead

Bonehead Scout

Blog Posts:
    I'm an EMT. I don't work as one profesionally, i volunteer and occasionally help teach. I thought they would be good skills to know as a parent and someone who spends time in the bush.

4. Keepntime

Keepntime Scout Bushclass I

Blog Posts:
    Man I am small time next to you guys. I was just a combat life saver while serving in the Army for 8 years.

5. ffchris

ffchris Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Nationally registered Paramedic with all associated certifications required to maintian that cert for 7 years.

6. Buckskin

Buckskin Guide

Blog Posts:
    Was a combat lifesaver in the Army. Now I just have certs for Red Cross First Aid and CPR.

7. Colorado Plainsman

Colorado Plainsman Scout

Blog Posts: