Where can one find a practical Fur Parka?

Discussion in 'Clothing' started by Sticks N' Stones, Jul 2, 2019.

1. Sticks N' Stones

Sticks N' Stones Scout

Blog Posts:
    I'm going to Paul Smith's college in upstate NY where the winters can get to down to -40 degrees and I want to invest in a solid fur parka. I'd like to find one with Caribou hair since it's hollow, but if you can recommend anything that would be just as warm for under $500 I'd be interested.

I'm mainly interested in purchasing from a major retailer.

I'll be doing A LOT of camping and hunting trips since the winters are so long there compared to NJ so I want to have good equipment that'll not only keep me nice and warm, but last me for decades with considerable use. Not sure if I'm asking too much out of fur since I have little experience with it. So feel free to share any knowledge and experience you have on the subject.

2. XMP

XMP Mountain Man Supporter

Blog Posts:
    It's not fur (except ruffs) but I've heard great things about Apocalypse Designs out of Fairbanks, Alaska. Their stuff is used by dog mushers and other extreme outdoorsman in some pretty tough environments.

https://akgear.com/product-category/clothing/

But if you find a source for all fur, I'll be watching to learn.

Haggis and Sticks N' Stones like this.
  3. Mangrove

Mangrove Scout

Blog Posts:
    Historically, reindeer/caribou fur parka did not last more than two or three years with considerable use. Shearling will last for decades, but is heavier than reindeer/caribou, so a vest design was preferred e.g. by the Finns over a parka design. In general if you can light a fire every night and dry your clothes, you don't need a very warm outfit when moving about.

4. Harper

Harper Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    I was also thinking shearling. But I sweat in it while moving or working. I only use it for those extreme temperatures.