Wood Working Joint Question

Discussion in 'Other Skills' started by UAHiker, Feb 10, 2017.

1. UAHiker

UAHiker Supporter Supporter

Blog Posts:
    so i'm fairly new to work working and am planning on building a buck saw in the near future. i've seen plenty of designs where the cross member ties into the uprights by a mortise and tenon joint which from what i know if done correctly is one of the strongest joints in wood working. i also know there a bunch of other joints for different applications like dado, rabbit, dovetail, finger ect... but i just ran across a webpage of a guy who built his bucksaw using a shallowish dado joint to join his cross members to his uprights....... i'll put a picture below...

even though a dado joint is way easier to make then a mortise and tenon joint and most dado joints i see are on book shelves i wouldn't have thought to use one in this application. i would think there would be a potential of the cross member slipping out if there wasn't enough tension and when tension is applied by the string or what ever your using you might create a gap between the two pieces or cause over time a dent in the wood to occur. am i thinking correctly? any other disadvantages or potential advantages to a dado joint rather than mortise tenon joint in this application?

also is there any special formula to determine the length of the uprights vs how far up the cross member should be? for instance if you want to be able to cut a 9" dia log you would need at least 9" between the bottom of the cross member and the blade but does it matter how tall above the cross member is as long as you have a few inches to create tension on the blade?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

rsnurkle and Guillaume Longval like this.
  2. JIMBETHYNAME

JIMBETHYNAME Tracker

Blog Posts:
    Are you sure its not a hidden tenon? Any pics of it apart?

3. JIMBETHYNAME

JIMBETHYNAME Tracker

Blog Posts:
    I dont see how just a dado would stop it from popping out

66drifter likes this.